Customer Support Center
How do I recycle?
Your local solid waste management district (SWMD) is your first source of disposal and recycling information. If something is still useable, donate it to a friend, neighbor or non-profit organization. See our recycling page for more information.
How do I obtain a recycling grant?
Ohio EPA's competitive grant funding is targeted at local governments, colleges and universities, solid waste management districts/authorities, health districts, soil and water conservation districts and private sector businesses for a variety of recycling and litter cleanup and scrap tire management projects.
How do I dispose of waste?
Contact your local solid waste hauler or find an Ohio EPA licensed solid waste facility.
- Municipal Solid Waste Landfills
- Construction and Demolition Debris Landfills
- Municipal Solid Waste Transfer Facilities
How much is Ohio’s solid waste disposal fee?
Ohio's state disposal and environmental protection fee is currently $4.75 per ton of solid waste. The fee is collected at the first transfer facility or landfill facility that receives solid waste. Further, the fee is collected on all solid waste regardless of where the waste came from. When solid waste is taken to a transfer facility before being taken to a landfill, the State's fee is collected at the transfer facility. The fee is collected at a landfill only when solid waste is transported directly to the landfill.
What is a solid waste management district (SWMD)?
Each county in Ohio is required to be in a SWMD, either individually or with one or more other counties The main purpose of the SWMD is to prepare and implement a solid waste management plan (plan). The plan is the SWMD’s strategy for achieving goals of the state solid waste management plan and requirements in Ohio law. As part of its plan, the SWMD is responsible for the safe and sanitary management of all solid waste generated within the SWMD or authority. Read this fact sheet for more information about SWMDs.
What requirements do I need to know about to transport solid waste in Ohio?
The requirements that you must comply with depend upon whether you are picking up and dropping off solid waste within Ohio (intrastate) or if you are transporting waste across state lines (interstate). Visit this link to learn more about those requirements.
What is the largest challenge that new businesses face when they apply to become registered scrap tire transporters?
The largest challenge to becoming a scrap tire transporter is obtaining the required $20,000 in financial assurance. Ohio EPA recommends securing financial assurance prior to submitting an application since this will help prevent losing the non-refundable application fee which ranges from $50 to $300 in case financial assurance can’t be secured.
Here is an overview of financial assurance general requirements.
Here is information more specific to scrap tire transporter financial assurance.
Start with these sources and please contact Matt Boyer if you have any financial assurance-related questions at 614.728.5351 or Channon Cohen with all other questions about registering at 614.728.5353.
What authorization do I currently need to be a C&DD Processing facility?
New rules effective April 18, 2022, require standalone C&DD processing facilities to be permitted and licensed. A standalone C&DD processing facility is a C&DD processing facility that is not located wholly within the facility boundary of a licensed C&DD facility. The owner or operator of a standalone C&DD processing facility in operation before April 18, 2022, must apply for a permit-to-install and a license by October 18, 2022. The owner or operator of a standalone C&DD processing facility that was not in operation before April 18, 2022, will need to obtain a permit and a license before accepting C&DD. Please visit the C&DD Processing Page and the Standalone C&DD Processing Facility Permitting and Licensing Page for more information.
Rules are being developed for co-located processing facilities. A co-located processing facility is a C&DD processing facility that is located wholly within the facility boundary of a licensed C&DD facility. Currently, the owner or operator of a C&DD co-located processing facility needs to submit an application for registration, along with a registration fee of $100, to either the approved Board of Health or Ohio EPA. Please visit DMWM’s C&DD Processing Page for more information.
What is a C&DD Processing Facility?
A C&DD Processing Facility is a site that is to be used for the processing, transferring, or recycling of construction and demolition debris. Ohio EPA is in the process of developing rules to regulate C&DD processing facilities. DMWM’s C&DD Processing web site has information on how to register a facility, the rule-making process, and best management practices for these facilities