As a precautionary response to COVID-19, Ohio EPA is currently operating with most staff working remotely. If you are working with our staff on a current project and you know the name of the employee you are working with, email them at or call them directly. The Agency website has contact information for every district, division, and office. In order to reach us, please contact Ohio EPA’s main phone line at (614) 644-3020 or the main line for the division or office you are trying to reach.

After March 23, our district offices and Central Office will be temporarily closed and will have increasingly limited ability to receive deliveries, plans, etc. All entities are encouraged to submit plans, permit applications, etc., electronically where there are existing avenues to do so, such as the eBusiness Center (eBiz). Please refer to the list of available services on the main eBiz webpage. We encourage you to make use of all that apply, even if you have not used eBiz in the past. Plans under 25 MB can be emailed. For large plans over 25 MB, entities should work with the reviewer/division to upload via LiquidFiles. Directions for submitting docs via LiquidFiles is available on YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you in advance for your understanding. If you wish to send hard copies of documents to any of Ohio EPA’s district offices, the best method to ensure we receive these documents is to send them via U.S. Mail. Since all offices are closed, deliveries outside of U.S. Mail (FedEx, UPS) will likely be returned because the offices are closed and deliveries cannot be made.

To report a spill or environmental emergency, contact the spill hotline (800) 282-9378 or (614) 224-0946

The Seven ECheck markCheck Counties

U.S. EPA classifies areas based on the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) that were initiated as a result of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990. For any given area nationwide, the air quality is monitored on an hourly basis for ground-level ozone, better known as smog. Ozone levels that exceed the NAAQS for a metropolitan statistical area (population more than 100,000) are categorized into one of five nonattainment levels: marginal; moderate; serious; severe; or extreme. Individual states are then required to initiate basic emissions testing in any nonattainment area ranked moderate and above.

On April 15, 2004, U.S. EPA announced that 33 Ohio counties were out of attainment for the eight-hour ozone standard. In order for Ohio to meet the eight-hour standard, additional air pollution control measures may be necessary in these counties.

Under the new eight-hour ozone standard, the following counties in the Cleveland and Akron area are required to continue the E-Check program: Cuyahoga; Geauga; Lake; Lorain; Medina; Portage; and Summit counties.