Web Content Viewer

What We Do

Ohio EPA has several regulatory divisions that play different roles in environmental protection. Each division issues permits to regulate industries that pollute in a specific area, like air emissions or wastewater discharges to rivers and streams. The permits include requirements for operating, monitoring and reporting compliance. There are a few core responsibilities that each regulatory division of Ohio EPA fulfills:

  • Review permit applications and issue permits to facilities.
  • Investigate citizen complaints.
  • Monitor to make sure all environmental standards are met (usually accomplished by collecting samples of air, water or soil and testing them for pollutants in a laboratory; and reviewing sampling and monitoring data submitted by a facility).
  • Provide technical assistance to help regulated facilities understand and follow environmental laws and permit requirements.
  • Take enforcement action against facilities that violate environmental laws and permit requirements.

Non-regulatory divisions provide financial assistance to businesses and communities; site cleanup and spill response; environmental education programs for businesses and the public; pollution prevention assistance to help businesses minimize their waste at the source; laboratory analysis; and criminal environmental investigations. 

Ohio EPA’s Central Office is located in Columbus. Five district offices manage the Agency’s programs at the local level. They are located in Bowling Green, Twinsburg, Dayton, Columbus and Logan.