Dina Pierce, Ohio EPA, (614) 644-2160
Brianna Wooten, Montgomery County Environmental Services, (937) 781-2532

Ohio EPA, Montgomery County Supporting Glass Recycling Program

The Montgomery County Solid Waste District is joining Ohio EPA’s efforts to recover more glass waste in the state.

Ohio EPA has awarded the county a $23,798 grant under Ohio’s statewide glass recycling initiative to get the local program started.

The solid waste district is using the funding to begin a bar and restaurant glass recycling program in Dayton’s Oregon Historical District.

The grant also is funding a glass-only roll-off container at the county’s existing public recycling area located at the South Transfer Station in Moraine. The facility is open six days a week and is free to county residents who want to recycle glass and other materials.

In addition, the solid waste district will offer funding to help spur the glass recovery efforts in the Oregon Historical District. The solid waste district will pay the first year of recycling service for participating businesses when they contract for three years with a vendor of their choice. Participating business will receive free interior and exterior recycling containers as part of the grant award.

In 2013, Ohio EPA launched a statewide recycling initiative aimed at jump-starting the glass recycling markets. The program helps Ohio’s environment and provides a material resource for Ohio’s insulation and bottling manufacturers.

Ohio manufacturers need recycled glass to produce new glass products, including glass bottles and fiberglass. Currently these industries need more than 275,000 tons of recycled glass per year and they must import most of that glass from out of state. About 90 percent of glass containers used in Ohio ends up in landfills. Using recycled glass costs less than using raw materials by reducing energy demands.

Increasing the availability of recycled glass within the state will save manufacturers’ energy costs, conserve landfill space and create or retain jobs in recycling and manufacturing industries.

Ohio EPA has committed up to $1 million to increase glass recovery in Ohio through a variety of programs including voluntary bar and restaurant glass recycling programs, adding new glass drop-off locations and creating a series of glass depot locations around the state to help with the high cost of transportation. More information about Ohio EPA’s initiative is available online.


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.

The Montgomery County Solid Waste District is an innovative collaboration between all of the jurisdictions in Montgomery County, who came together to manage solid waste and recycling for their citizens in a responsible and environmentally-sound manner. The District members include: Butler Township, City of Brookville, City of Centerville, City of Clayton, City of Dayton, City of Englewood, City of Huber Heights, City of Kettering, City of Miamisburg, City of Moraine, City of Oakwood, City of Riverside, City of Trotwood, City of Union, City of Vandalia, City of West Carrolton, Clay Township, German Township, Harrison Township, Jackson Township, Jefferson Township, Miami Township, Perry Township, Village of Farmersville, Village of Germantown, Village of New Lebanon, Village of Phillipsburg and Washington Township.

Montgomery County Environmental Services provides trash disposal, recycling, drinking water distribution, and wastewater treatment to the citizens of Montgomery County. The department also offers educational outreach to local schools, communities, and businesses that want to learn more about conservation and sustainability in the Miami Valley region.