As a precautionary response to COVID-19, Ohio EPA is currently operating with most staff working remotely. If you are working with our staff on a current project and you know the name of the employee you are working with, email them at or call them directly. The Agency website has contact information for every district, division, and office. To report a spill or environmental emergency, contact the spill hotline (800) 282-9378 or (614) 224-0946. This number should only be used for emergencies. For all other calls, please contact Ohio EPA’s main phone line at (614) 644-3020 or the main line for the division or office you are trying to reach.

After March 23, our district offices and Central Office will be temporarily closed and will have increasingly limited ability to receive deliveries, plans, etc. All entities are encouraged to submit plans, permit applications, etc., electronically where there are existing avenues to do so, such as the eBusiness Center (eBiz). Please refer to the list of available services on the main eBiz webpage. We encourage you to make use of all that apply, even if you have not used eBiz in the past. Plans under 25 MB can be emailed. For large plans over 25 MB, entities should work with the reviewer/division to upload via LiquidFiles. Directions for submitting docs via LiquidFiles is available on YouTube. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you in advance for your understanding. If you wish to send hard copies of documents to any of Ohio EPA’s district offices, the best method to ensure we receive these documents is to send them via U.S. Mail. Since all offices are closed, deliveries outside of U.S. Mail (FedEx, UPS) will likely be returned because the offices are closed and deliveries cannot be made.

MEDIA CONTACT: Heather Lauer

Ohio EPA Meeting to Address Columbus Air Quality Rating

The State of Ohio will ask U.S. EPA to officially recognize that air quality in the Columbus area meets the federal air quality standard for ozone (O3).

An Ohio EPA hearing to take comments on the proposal will be held on Thursday, June 2, 2016. The hearing will begin at 3 p.m. at Ohio EPA, Conference Room A, 50 W. Town St., Columbus.

The redesignation request covers the Columbus 8-hour ozone nonattainment area in Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Knox, Licking and Madison counties.

Air quality data collected between 2012 and 2014 demonstrates the area is now meeting the eight-hour ozone national ambient air quality standard and that the standard is being met due to permanent, enforceable emission reductions. Projects and computer modeling indicate the area can continue to meet the 2008 ozone standard for at least the next 10 years.

Ohio also is requesting U.S. EPA approve the state’s maintenance plan for this area. The plan includes actions that can be taken to achieve additional emission reductions if the ozone standard is not achieved after the area is redesignated.

During the hearing, the public can submit oral or written comments on the proposed redesignation request and maintenance plan. Ohio EPA also will accept written comments through June 2, 2016. Anyone may submit comments by writing to: Erica Fetty or Jennifer Van Vlerah, Ohio EPA Division of Air Pollution Control, Lazarus Government Center, P.O. Box 1049, Columbus, OH 43216-1049; or emailing or

More information on the redesignation request is available online or by calling Ohio EPA’s Division of Air Pollution Control at (614) 644-2270.


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.

Get to the
Right Person Faster