Ohio EPA Awards Nearly $500,000 for 2014 Litter Cleanup and Tire Amnesty Projects

Ohio EPA is awarding nearly $500,000 in grant funding to 40 communities to support and implement litter cleanups and tire amnesty programs.

“Litter remains a significant and costly problem for communities and businesses,” said Ohio EPA Director Craig W. Butler. “Awarding these grants demonstrates our commitment to help local communities clean up and beautify public spaces.”

Local governments will use these monies to fund litter collection events, community awareness programming or to create free opportunities for residents to get rid of scrap tires. All local cleanup efforts will involve the work of volunteers.

Projects approved for funding include:

  • Adams Clermont Solid Waste District, $49,250 
  • Clinton County Solid Waste District, $5,760
  • Partners for Clean Streams (Lucas), $7,515
  • Athens-Hocking Solid Waste District, $25,110
  • City of Barberton (Summit), $1,800 
  • Preble County, $15,000
  • City of Cleveland (Cuyahoga), $40,000
  • Clark County Solid Waste District, $3,500
  • Athens-Hocking Solid Waste District, $6,811
  • Logan County Solid Waste District, $5,000
  • Lucas County Solid Waste District, $20,000
  • Marion County, $4,000
  • Highland County, $2,000
  • Licking County, $30,000
  • Darke County Solid Waste District, $10,000
  • Mercer County Solid Waste District, $4,786.38 
  • Portage Solid Waste District, $20,000
  • Rural Action (Athens), $2,779.50 
  • City of Youngstown (Mahoning), $25,225
  • Wyandot County Solid Waste District, $10,200
  • Henry County Solid Waste District, $3,164 
  • Jefferson/Belmont Regional Solid Waste Authority, $5,640
  • Knox County, $3,636.36 
  • Delaware General Health District, $5,000 
  • Lorain Port Authority, $7,161
  • City of Cuyahoga Falls (Summit), $8,200
  • Clinton Soil & Water Conservation District, $5,700
  • Fulton County, $9,000 
  • Guernsey County, $27,000
  • Lorain County Solid Waste District, $12,000
  • Carroll/Columbiana-Harrison Solid Waste District, $25,000
  • Keep Wickliffe Beautiful (Lake), $2,500
  • Jackson County Health Department, $30,000
  • Madison County Soil & Water Conservation District, $20,000 
  • Vinton County Health Department, $10,000
  • Auglaize County Solid Waste District, $1,300
  • City of Macedonia (Summit), $2,460
  • Fairfield Township (Butler), $8,698.50 
  • Meigs County, $20,864.80 
  • Morrow County Health Department, $3,924.02 

The Litter Cleanup and Tire Amnesty Grant program requires a 10 percent match and is available to local governments, park or health districts, state colleges or universities, solid waste authorities or Keep America Beautiful communities.

For additional information about the grant program, contact Ohio EPA at (614) 644-2873, or visit www.recycleohio.gov.


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.

Get to the
Right Person Faster
Notify us about
Non-emergency Issues