MEDIA CONTACT: Heidi Griesmer

E-Check Stations to Close End of Day Today

Due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, Ohio EPA has asked its contractor that operates the E-Check automobile emissions testing stations in the seven-county Cleveland-Akron metro area to temporarily close all stations at the end of the day today (March 19). 

Ohio EPA will be coordinating with Ohio BMV to assist people who are unable to get E-Check performed and need to renew their vehicle’s registration. 

Motorists in Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit counties are required to get their vehicles’ emissions tested and brought to passing every other year before renewing the vehicles’ registration. Vehicles with model years four years old or newer and older than 25 years are exempted. E-Check is normally offered at 23 full-service stations and 46 independent repair shops in Northeast Ohio. Updates and information about the E-Check program is at ohioecheck.org.


The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency was created in 1972 to consolidate efforts to protect and improve air quality, water quality and waste management in Ohio. Since then, air pollutants dropped by as much as 90 percent; large rivers meeting standards improved from 21 percent to 89 percent; and hundreds of polluting, open dumps were replaced with engineered landfills and an increased emphasis on waste reduction and recycling.

Get to the
Right Person Faster
Notify us about
Non-emergency Issues